How to Use WhatsApp View Once Feature to Send Pictures & Videos?

Spread the love

The world’s most widely used personalize messing mobile application WhatsApp has recently launched a new feature called View Once using that you can send secret pictures and videos that will automatically delete after the recipient has opened it. 

This feature will not only gives users more control over their privacy but also allowing them to share confidential data like OTP, Debit or Credit Card Pin and Net Banking Login password or other similar one-time transaction codes etc.

Also Read: WhatsApp OTP Scam: Know About This Online Fraud & How to Stay Safe

If you use the Whatsapp view once mode the picture, video or text message it will automatically remove from the chatbox the moment you open it. The best thing, neither it is saved in your media gallery, nor do you have the option of forwarding it to anyone else in your WhatsApp phone contact.  

How To Use WhatsApp View Once Feature?

For example, if you have visited an ATM to withdraw money using your friend’s or family member’s card and you forget your pin. You can always ask your friend or family member to write the pin on a paper and send it to you as view once media.

Also Read: How to Stop Whatsapp Media Auto Download to Gallery

And ATM pin is not something you would want to keep in your chat box forever, you would not read and destroy it as soon as you can. Because what if your phone gets snatched that very moment, you would not want the thief to read your ATM pin. So, let’s find out how to use the WhatsApp view once feature on your android and apple phone.

Steps to Send View Once Pictures and Videos on WhatsApp:

As you know it this feature has been recently rollout by the company, and if you have not recently updated your WhatsApp, just open the Google Play Store and update it with the latest version (2.21.16.20).

WhatsApp Version to use View Once Mode

Step1: After updating the app, you can open any chat window and select an image or video to send to that person.

Step2: Now select a media, you will see a small circle on the dialogue box with 1 written inside it.

Step3: Here you need to tap on the 1 circle to enable the View Once media.

Step4: When you tap on it, the media will be sent as I circle Photo or Video.

Step5: After you have sent the view once media, select the message and swipe right.

Step6: Here when you swipe right, a new window will show you whether that message has been opened or seen by the recipient.

You can use this feature to send the message to individuals as well as groups. And to check which of the group members have seen or opened the media you can select the message and swipe right. And anytime you can disable the feature by tapping on the 1 circle.

Also Read: How To Stop Someone From Adding You To A Group In Whatsapp

However, if you do not open the message for 14 days, the media remains on the Chatbox for those many days. And, after the completion of 14 days, the media will expire automatically.

Though, WhatsApp has said that the view once media is protected by end-to-end encryption so even WhatsApp cannot see them as is the case with the personal messages, but at the same time it also warned users about sending view once media to only trusted contacts.

As the view, once media feature is not supported by a screen detection feature. This means, you will never get to know whether the recipient has taken a screenshot of your media or not. Not only screenshots but the media can also be recorded using a screen recorder and the person can also use any other device to capture or record your media and share it with an unauthorized person.

Also Read: How to Enable Two Factor Authentication on Your WhatsApp Account

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.